Any person who commits an assault and battery against a family or household member in Virginia is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.

The crime is considered a Class 6 Felony if you have been convicted of domestic violence three or more times within 20 years.

A conviction in a family abuse case is very serious and can carry significant impacts, including loss of child visitation, restraining and protection orders and your right to possess firearms.

It is important to remember, however, that an arrest under Virginia’s domestic violence laws is not a conviction. If you have been arrested contact the attorneys at Bush & Taylor immediately. We’ll start building your case and put our years of experience and tough-minded criminal defense approach to work for you.

According to Section 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia, “family abuse” means any act involving violence, force, or threat including, but not limited to, any forceful detention, which results in bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of bodily injury and which is committed by a person against such person’s family or household member.

Domestic Violence laws apply to married and unmarried couples, relatives and those who are not related but live in the same household, such as boyfriends and girlfriends or in-laws.

If you or someone you know is involved in a Domestic Violence case, please call the experienced attorneys at Bush & Taylor Law Firm in Virginia Beach, Suffolk & the Eastern Shore of Virginia. Don’t try to fight this battle alone. You need a professional on your side. Contact us today to start building your case now.